Pages Menu
Categories Menu

Posted by on Feb 6, 2013 in Recent, UEFA Champions League 2013, World | 0 comments

2013 UEFA Champions League:  Shakhtar Donetsk

2013 UEFA Champions League: Shakhtar Donetsk



Founded in 1936 as Stakhanovets (named after the founder of the Ukranian miner’s movement Alexey Stakhanov–this would also provide the club’s “Miners” nickname in later years) the club was a solid team during the Soviet era, though never ranking among the powerhouses of football in the USSR. The club later changed its name to Shakhtyor, and finally changed to Football Club Shakhtar Donetsk in 1992.

The club first established its solid reputation in the 1960s, winning the Soviet football cup in 1960 and 1961 under Coach Oleg Oshenkov. They would not win the Soviet cup again until 1980; however they would win the cup again in 1983 and 1984.  With the dissolution of the USSR, after several years of serving as runner up to bitter rivals Dynamo Kyiv, the club lifted its first Ukranian league trophy in 2002 under Italian coach Nevio Scala–the first Ukranian club other than Dynamo to do so.

Romanian coach Mircea Lucescu was hired in 2004, enabling Shakhtar to lift the championship cup in 2008, 2011, and this past year. The club’s crowning moment came in 2009 with their UEFA Cup Final match, defeating German side Werder Bremen 2-1, thanks to an extra time goal scored by Brazilian international Jádson. And following the Club’s 2012 Ukranian league championship, Lucescu was considered Ukraine’s most decorated coach since Ukranian independence from the former Soviet Union.


After years of playing in Shakhtyor Stadium (built in 1936 and renovated 4 times, with a capacity of 31,718), the Club now calls Donbass Arena home. Completed in 2009, and with a capacity of 52,000, the old Shakhtyor Stadium is now used for the Club’s reserve team.



UEFA Cup Winners 2009
UEFA Super Cup Runners Up 2009

Domestic competitions:

Soviet Union

Soviet Top League
Runners-Up : (2) 1975, 1979
Third place : (2) 1951, 1978

Soviet Cup
Winners : (4) 1961, 1962, 1980, 1983
Runners-Up : (4) 1963, 1978, 1985, 1986

Soviet Super Cup
Winners : (1) 1984
Runners-Up : (2) 1980, 1985

Ukrainian Premier League
Winners : (7) 2001–02, 2004–05, 2005–06, 2007–08, 2009–10, 2010–11, 2011–12
Runners-Up : (10) 1993–94, 1996–97, 1997–98, 1998–99, 1999–2000, 2000–01, 2002–03, 2003–04, 2006–07, 2008–09

Ukrainian Cup
Winners : (8) 1995, 1997, 2001, 2002, 2004, 2008, 2011, 2012
Runners-Up : (4) 2003, 2005, 2007, 2009
Ukrainian Super Cup
Winners : (4) 2005, 2008, 2010, 2012

Current Players to Know:

Luiz Adriano (Striker).  The Brazilian international came to Shakhtar in 2007 from Brazilian side Internacional. Adriano has helped the club win two Ukranian league championships, both in 2009 and 2012.  He scored the opening goal in both championship matches.

Eduardo Da Silva (“Eduardo”–Striker). The former Brazilian, now Croatian, international signed with the club in 2010. He is the second most prolific Croatian striker after Davor Suker.

Fernandinho (Midfielder and Co-captain). Coming from Brazilian side Atletico Paranaense in 2005, he’s helped Shakhtar win 5 Ukranian league championships.  He’s known for his blistering pace and for breaking up opponent attacks to create scoring opportunities.

Darijo Srna (Captain).  The Croatian international serves also as captain of the Croatian National Team and has helped Shakhtar win the Ukranian league six times.

Dentinho (Striker). Currently on loan at Turkish side Besiktas SK, the Brazilian international came from Brazilian side Corinthians in 2011 and helped Shakhtar win the Ukranian championship in the 2011-12 season.

Dmytro Chygrynski (Defender–Fullback). With a brief stint at FC Barcelona, he has spent the majority of his professional career at Shakhtar, helping the club win two Ukranian championships in the 2005-06 season and the 2007-08 season. He was also part of he squad that won the UEFA Champions League in 2009.


Past Players to Know:

Yevhen Selezynov (striker). A product of Shakhtar’s academy, he has gone in and out of Shakhtar over the last few years. In the 2011-12 season, he was the Ukranian league’s top goal scorer with 14 goals. During that same season, he also helped the club win the Ukranian league championship.

Jádison (attacking midfielder). Known for his technical ability, passing, and scoring threat, he was most famous for scoring the winning goal in extra time over Werder Bremen in the 2009 UEFA Champions League final.

Willian (attacking midfielder). The Brazilian international helped the club win 4 Ukranian league championships and was also part of the squad that won the UEFA Champions league in 2009.

Nery Castillo (forward).   A proflific player who even had a stint as a Designated Player with MLS side Chicago fire, the Mexican international was part of the squad that won the 2009 UEFA Champions League cup.

Shakhtar Donetsk vs. Borussia Dortmund

First Leg: February 13, 2013

Donbass Arena, Donetsk – 1:45 ET

Second Leg: March 5, 2013

Signal Iduna Park, Dortmund – 2:45 ET