Pages Menu
Categories Menu

Posted by on Feb 6, 2013 in Recent, UEFA Champions League 2013, World | 0 comments

2013 UEFA Champions League: Borussia Dortmund

2013 UEFA Champions League: Borussia Dortmund


Club History

Borussia Dortmund was established on December 19, 1909 by a group of men that were unhappy playing for their church club managed by a hardass priest. Dortmund spent their first two decades in mediocrity, as did most clubs in Germany at that time, but at the rise of the Third Reich, German Fußball became more organized. Dortmund first appeared in a top division when they kicked off in the Oberliga West in 1949, at that time, they were known as Ballspiel-Verein Borussia (BVB), which roughly translates to Ball Club Borussia. BVB won three titles in the Oberliga West before the creation of the Bundesliga. Dortmund were granted entry into the Bundesliga’s inaugural season in 1963 by virtue of winning the most recent top division title. Dortmund had an average decade in the 1960s, before they plummeted into the Dark Ages of the club in the 1970s and 1980s, a 20 year period which saw the club get relegated from the Bundesliga. Finally, Dortmund won a German Cup in 1989, pulling the club out of a dark age and propelling them into the Golden Era. In the 90s, Dortmund won the Bundesliga twice, made it to the Europa League Final, and won the Champions League. In 2000, Dortmund entered the German stock market, and are still the only club to do so. BVB had a mediocre start to the millennium, but have only recently returned to their past glory, and that can mainly be attributed to the guidance of Jürgen Klopp. Borussia Dortmund have won the past two Bundesliga Titles, and hope to go far in the UCL with their young, German-heavy side.


Location: Dortmund, Germany

Stadium: Signal Iduna Park, the largest stadium in Germany

Stadium Capacity: 80,720

2011-2012 Season: 1st in Bundesliga, Winner of DFB-Pokal (German Cup)

UEFA Coefficient: 42nd (50.008)



  • UEFA Champions League: 1996-97
  • UEFA Cup Winners’ Cup: 1965-66


  • German Championship: 1955-56, 1956-57, 1962-63, 1994-95, 1995-96, 2001-02, 2010-11, 2011-12
  • DFB-Pokal: 1964-65, 1988-89, 2011-12
  • DFB-Supercup/DFL-Supercup: 1989, 1995, 1996, 2008

Current Players to Know:

  • Mario Gotze- If you don’t know who this guy is, you will soon. At the age of 20, Gotze is already Dortmund and Germany’s starting number 10. Gotze is know for being fast, smart, and incredibly witty when the ball is at his feet. He has been lauded by many German Fußball experts as one of the best players they’ve ever had. Watch out for Gotze in this tournament as he attempts to take the next step in his career by becoming one of the world’s best.
  • Robert Lewandowski- Lewandowski made a name for himself at the 2012 Euros, and his form at Dortmund has upheld his reputation. He has a goal every other game with Dortmund, and has attracted attention from teams as reputable as Manchester United. At the age of 24, he already has 50 caps for his native Poland. Lewandowski is the one that caps off every Dortmund movement, so a Lewandowski celebration won’t be infrequent in this tournament.
  • Mats Hummels- Shrewdly bought away from fellow powerhouse Bayern Munich, Hummels was a steal at a lowly four million euros. Initially joining Dortmund on loan, Hummels has been a mainstay in the Dortmund lineup since 2008. He is quickly establishing himself as Germany’s first choice centerback, and has drawn comparisons to the great Franz Beckenbauer.
  • Marco Reus- Reus began his youth career with Dortmund, but made his senior debut with Rot Weiss Ahlen. The prodigal son then moved to Monchengladbach before returning home in January of 2012. Reus is a similar player to Gotze, and together they’ve wreaked havoc on their opponents.

Players of The Past:

  • Manfred Bugsmüller- The club’s all-time leading scorer in the Bundesliga with 135 goals.
  • Michael Zorc- Dortmund’s all-time leader in caps with 463. Zorc even went on to score 131 goals as a central midfielder.
  • Matthias Sammer- The club’s first player to win the Ballon d’Or while on the club. He also was part of the 1996-97 team that won the Champions League.

Shakhtar Donetsk vs. Borussia Dortmund

First Leg: February 13, 2013

Donbass Arena, Donetsk – 1:45 ET

Second Leg: March 5, 2013

Signal Iduna Park, Dortmund – 2:45 ET